Menu Close

The ACS Macro Letters/Biomacromolecules/Macromolecules Young Investigator Award recognizes two individuals, early in their careers, who have made a major impact on the field of polymer science. This award was established in 2013 and is administered and supported by the POLY division of the ACS and the following journals of ACS Publications: ACS Macro Letters, Biomacromolecules, and Macromolecules. The award is presented annually at the Fall ACS National Meeting during the POLY/PMSE award program.

Award: Awardees receive a plaque, an honorarium of $3,000, registration, and travel expenses up to $1,500 to attend the Fall ACS National Meeting at which the award is presented. The recipient is expected to present at a symposium in his/her honor at the Fall ACS National Meeting. The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, or sexual orientation.

Eligibility: A nominee cannot be an Editor-in-chief, Associate Editor, or Topic Editor of the sponsoring journals, nor a member of the selection committee in the year the awardee is selected. Self nominations are not allowed. Nominees must be of age 40 years or below on January 1, of the award year. The awardee candidates should have published at least one article in either Biomacromolecules, Macromolecules, or ACS Macro Letters in the previous 2 years. Nominees from academia, industry, and national laboratories are encouraged.

Nomination:  (Before making a nomination, you must get the nominee’s consent to share information about them as a part of the nomination process. This is necessary for the American Chemical Society, ACS Publications, and the ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry to comply with laws and rules around the processing of personal data.) Nominations should be submitted at The Award Website following the instructions mentioned at this site and should include:

“Nominations should be submitted at….and should include:

    • The full URL of 10 of the nominee’s most-relevant articles.
    • A SINGLE PDF FILE containing the following in this order:
      • Nomination Remarks: A 500-word, or shorter, description highlighting the nominee’s accomplishments as an early-career researcher.
      • Suggested Citation: A 100-word, or shorter, summary of the nominee’s accomplishments and contributions to the field of polymer science. If the nominee is selected, this citation will be considered for inclusion in the winner’s announcement.

PLEASE NOTE: We are not accepting CVs or supporting letters as part of this nomination process.

Previous Awardees

2022 Changle Chen Rebekka Klausen
2021 Bradley Olson Haritz Sardon
Keiji Numata Rodney Priestley
Ilja K. Voets Julien Nicolas
2018 Jeremiah Johnson Matt Gibson
2017 Rachel O’Reilly  Richard Hoogenboom
2016 Cyrille Boyer Andrew Dove
2015 Matt Becker Brent Sumerlin
2014 Sebastien Perrier Zhiyuan Zhong
2013 Raffaele Mezzenga David Michael Lynn

For more information about previous awardees:

ACS Macro Letters – Biomacromolecules – Macromolecules YI Previous Awardees 2013-2022

%d bloggers like this: