Menu Close

Deadline for applications: July 1 of even numbered years

Professor Rodney D. Priestley of Princeton University is currently the new Dean of the Graduate School and the Pomeroy and Betty Perry Smith Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering. Rodney’s creative work in polymer science has embodied the type of creative and risk-taking work spanning basic and use-inspired research, that this Marvel Award seeks to recognize. Throughout his prestigious career, Prof.Priestley has made many significant and creative contributions to the field of polymer physics and chemistry. For example, he developed a novel way to tease out physical measurements of polymers which helped reveal thermal properties (with nanoscale resolution) that otherwise would have been impossible to measure. Prof Priestley also developed many disruptive technologies, including a structured polymer colloid manufacturing process and a polymer membrane for sustainable water production, both overcoming long-standing and well-established challenges to enable technology translation. These are but a few contributions Rod has made to the scientific community leader. In summary, Professor Priestley’s research, teaching, and leadership qualities are consistent with the Carl S. Marvel Award for Creative Polymer Chemistry.

The Carl S. Marvel Award for Creative Polymer Chemistry Award was established in 1980 to recognize and encourage accomplishments and/or innovation of unusual merit in the field of basic or applied polymer science by younger scientists. The award is currently sponsored and administered by the POLY division of the ACS. Previously, the award was sponsored by Rohm and Haas Company (1908-2009) and Albelmarle Corporation (2011-2016).  The award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years in the spring at the national ACS meeting during the POLY/PMSE award program.

Award: Awardees receive a plaque, an honorarium of $3,000, and travel expenses of up to $2,000 to attend the national ACS meeting at which the award is presented. The recipient is expected to present at a symposium in his/her honor at the national ACS meeting, organized by the POLY division programming chair and nominator. The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, or sexual orientation.

Eligibility: A nominee must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division of ACS. Awardees must have accomplished outstanding work in basic or applied polymer science, and shall not have reached his/her 45th birthday before January 1 of the year of the award.

Nomination: Nominators must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division. Nomination packages should be sent by email as a single PDF file to the POLY division business office at and should include (in order):

  • A completed application form
  • One nomination letter that highlights the impact of the nominee’s work in the specific award area (2 pages maximum)
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae (2 pages maximum, tailored to award)
  • A complete list of scholarly works relevant to the award (e.g., publications, books, etc.)

Previous Awardees

2021 Richard Hoogenboom
2019 Matthew Becker
2017 Theresa Reineke
2015 Todd Emrick
2013 Zhenan Bao
2011 Marc Hillmyer
2009 Geoff Coates
2007 Anne Mayes
2005 Tim Swager
2003 James Hedrick
2001 Craig Hawker
1999 Joe DeSimone
1997 Bruce Novak
1995 Krysztof Matyjaszewski
1993 S. K. Triapathy
1991 Dave Tirrell
1989 R. Langer
1987 G. Wilkes
1985 E. L. Thomas
1983 W. L. Mattice
1981 L. J. Fetters

For more information about previous awardees, please see:

Carl S. Marvel Award Previous Awardees 1997-2017

Carl S. Marvel Award Previous Awardees 1981-1995

%d bloggers like this: