Menu Close

Deadline for applications is November 1 of odd numbered years

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Mark Scholar Awards were established in 2006 to recognize excellence in basic or applied research and leadership in polymer science by scientists of all ages. The awards are administered by the POLY division of the ACS. The award is presented biennially at the fall ACS National meeting (even years) during the POLY/PMSE award program.  In each award cycle, one Mark Scholar from each of three categories is awarded:

  1. Herman F. Mark Young Scholar: age 35 or younger on January 1 of the year that the award is presented.
  2. Herman F. Mark Scholar: between the ages of 36 and 49 on January 1 of the year that the award is presented.
  3. Herman F. Mark Senior Scholar: age 50 or older on January 1 of the year that the award is presented.

Award: Awardees will  receive a plaque and an honorarium of $1,500 which may be used towards expenses to attend the national ACS meeting at which the award is presented. The recipient is expected to present at a symposium in honor of the Mark Scholars Awardee at the fall ACS National meeting following the award announcement, organized by the POLY division programming chair and nominator. The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, or sexual orientation.

Eligibility: A nominee must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division of ACS. Consideration will be given for research accomplishments and contributions to the advancement of polymer science through teaching, basic or applied research, technical leadership and scientific writings (such as technical journals or patents).

Nomination: Nominators must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division. Nomination packages should be sent by email as a single PDF file to the POLY division business office at and should include (in order):

  • A completed application form
  • One nomination letter that highlights the impact of the nominee’s work in the specific award area (2 pages maximum)
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae (2 pages maximum, tailored to award)
  • A complete list of scholarly works relevant to the award (e.g., publications, books, etc.)

Previous Awardees

2020 Karen Winey Mark Senior Scholar
Luis Campos Mark Scholar
Frank Leibfarth Mark Young Scholar
2017 James Hedrick Mark Senior Scholar
Christopher Bowman Mark Scholar
Garret Miyake Mark Young Scholar
2015 Stuart Rowan Mark Scholar
Brad Olsen Mark Young Scholar
2013 Rigoberto Advincula Mark Scholar
Rachel O’Reilly Mark Young Scholar
2011 Jimmy Mays Mark Senior Scholar
Tim Long Mark Scholar
Javid Rzayev Mark Young Scholar
2009 Jim Crivello Mark Senior Scholar
Karen Wooley Mark Scholar
2007 Krysztof Matyjaszewski Mark Senior Scholar
Craig Hawker Mark Scholar
Greg Tew Mark Young Scholar

For information on previous awardees:

Mark Scholars Program- Previous Awardees 2007-2015

%d bloggers like this: