Menu Close

Deadline for applications: November 1 of even numbered years

The Herman F. Mark Polymer Chemistry Award was established in 1976 to recognize outstanding research and leadership in polymer science (namesake established in 1989). The award is administered by the POLY division of the ACS. Previous sponsors of the award are the POLY division, Elsevier, and the Dow Chemical Company Foundation.  The award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years in the fall at the national ACS meeting during the POLY/PMSE award program.

Award: Awardees will  receive a plaque, an honorarium of $3,000, and travel expenses to the national ACS meeting at which the award is presented. The recipient is expected to present at a symposium in his/her honor at the national ACS meeting, organized by the POLY division programming chair and nominator. This symposium will include other Mark Scholars who selected in the same year and speakers selected by the awardee. The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, or sexual orientation.

Eligibility: A nominee must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division of ACS. Consideration will be given to outstanding research accomplishments and contributions to the advancement of polymer science through teaching, research, technical leadership and scientific writings.

Nomination: Nominators must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division. Nomination packages should be sent by email as a single PDF file to the POLY division business office at and should include (in order):

  • A completed application form
  • One nomination letter that highlights the impact of the nominee’s work in the specific award area (2 pages maximum)
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae (2 pages maximum, tailored to award)
  • A complete list of scholarly works relevant to the award (e.g., publications, books, etc.)

Previous Awardees

2021 Kristi Anseth
2019 Nicholas Peppas
2017 Edward T. Samulski
2015 Timothy Lodge
2013 Ken Wagener
2011 Kris Matyjazewski
2009 Jean Frechet
2007 Robert Langer
2005 Donald R. Paul
2002 William J. MacKnight

M. Goodman
R. Lenz
R. H. Grubbs
L. Mandelkern
H. Hall, Jr.
Otto Vogl

1998 J. Economy
1996 J. E. McGrath
1994 H. R. Allcock
1992 E. Vandenberg
1990 M. Szwarc
1988 W. H.Stockmayer
1986 C. G. Overberger
1984 J. D. Ferry
1982 H. F. Mark
1980 M. L. Huggins
1978 Carl S. Marvel
1976 Paul J. Flory

For information on previous award winners:

Herman F. Mark Previous Awardees 1998-2018

Herman F. Mark Previous Awardees 1976-1996

%d bloggers like this: