Menu Close

To be eligible, students must register for the appropriate symposium (see below)

The Undergraduate Research in Polymer Science Symposium and Award was established to recognize outstanding undergraduate students in polymer science and engineering, foster networking and exposure, introduce opportunities in graduate research, and help develop future leaders in academia in industry. A one day symposium at spring national meetings of the American Chemical Society is held. This symposium consists of presentations from undergraduates from across universities in the US (10-12 oral presentations and approximately 12 poster presentations), as well as a keynote lecture in polymer science, career panel, discussion of graduate school opportunities, and a networking reception.

Award: The National Science Foundation Division of Materials Research sponsors travel awards for up to ten presenters and the IAB sponsors an award for the best oral and poster presentations ($500 each).

Eligibility: A nominee must be an undergraduate performing research in polymer science or engineering at a US institution. The student must submit an abstract through MAPS to the POLY division under the symposium “Undergraduate Research in Polymer Science.” A graphical abstract is required and approval must be obtained from the faculty advisor, and the faculty advisor must be listed as a co-author.

Previous Symposium and Awardee Information:

2021 Winners

1st place: Alexander Thome (Murray State University)
2nd place: Deniz Tekant (Cornell University)
3rd place: Clayton Keene (University of Florida & University of Southern Mississippi REU)
1st place: Greg Bisbjerg (California Institute of Technology & niversity of Southern Mississippi REU)
2nd place: Anna Zeleney (College of Saint Benedict & Saint John’s University)
3rd place: Eric Miller (Clemson University)

2019 Winners

1st place: Katrina Konopka (University of Arizona)
2nd place: Joseph Mitchell (University of Chicago)
3rd place: Brittany Thompson (University of Southern Mississippi)
1st place: Kaleigh Ryan (Pace Univerisity)
2nd place: Claire Gething (Waynesburg University)
3rd place: Ernie Alvino (US Air Force Academy)

Previous Undergraduate Research in Polym Sci Symposium and Award Winners 2010-2018

%d bloggers like this: