Menu Close

Deadline for applications: February 20th of odd numbered years

The Charles G. Overberger International Prize for Excellence in Polymer Research recognizes and encourages accomplishments of unusual merit in the field of basic or applied polymer science, from researchers from anywhere in the world. The award is presented biennially.

Award: Awardees will  receive a plaque, an honorarium of $3,000, and travel expenses of up to $2,000 to attend the national ACS meeting at which the award is presented. The recipient is expected to present at a symposium in his/her honor at the national ACS meeting. The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, or sexual orientation.

Eligibility: A nominee must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division of ACS. Consideration will be given to an individual or team for significant contributions in furthering polymer education.

Nomination: Nominators must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division and the entire application package must not exceed 100 pages. Nomination packages should be sent by email as a single PDF file to Julie Pollak  ( ) and should include (in order):

  • A synopsis of the accomplishments of the nominee
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • Up to 5 representative publications of the nominee
  • Up to 3 supporting letters which provide factual information about the candidate not provided in the nominating document

Previous Awardees

2017 Craig Hawker
2015 Krysztof Matyjaszewsi
2013 James McGrath

For more information about the previous awardees, please see:

Charles G. Overberger Award- Previous Awardees

%d bloggers like this: