Menu Close

Deadline for applications is July 31 of odd numbered years

The Industrial Polymer Scientist Award recognizes outstanding industrial innovation and creativity in the application of polymer science conducted by individual scientists or research teams. This award was established in 1999 and is administered by the POLY division of ACS and is sponsored by the Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) of POLY.  The award is presented biennially in even-numbered years at the fall national ACS meeting during the POLY/PMSE award program.

Award: Awardees will receive a plaque, an honorarium of $4,000, and reimbursement for reasonable travel expenses to attend the national ACS meeting at which the award is presented. The recipient is expected to present at a symposium in his/her honor at the national ACS meeting, organized by the POLY division programming chair. The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, or sexual orientation.

Eligibility: A nominee must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division of ACS. Nominees (individuals or research teams) will be selected on the basis of the creative polymer science that they have conducted at an industrial facility and their contributions to technological innovation in the relevant sector of the polymer industry. Aspects of the work must have been published externally, which includes any of the following: patent applications, technical journals, marketing materials, or technical presentations. Consideration will be given to an individual or team for significant contributions in furthering polymer education.

Nomination: Nominators must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division. Nomination packages should be sent by email as a single PDF file to and should include (in order):

  • A completed application form
  • One nomination letter that highlights the impact of the nominee’s work in the specific award area (2 pages maximum)
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae (2 pages maximum, tailored to award)
  • A complete list of externally published work relevant to the award (e.g. patents, publications, books, etc.)

Congratulations to our most recent awardee:

Qinghuang Lin (IBM)

Qinghuang Lin is a Research Staff Member and a Project Manager at the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, New York. He received his B.E. and M.S. degrees from Tsinghua University, China and his Ph.D. degree from the University of Michigan.  For more than twenty years, he made important and sustained contributions to advanced functional polymers for modern electronics. He designed, invented, developed and implemented advanced functional electronic materials to manufacture ever smaller, faster and cheaper microchips for modern electronics. His inventions have been used to make microchips for some of the most popular electronics devices in the world today. The IBM 248 nm bilayer resist technology he invented and developed, along with his colleagues, was part of the 40 years of innovations in semiconductor technology that won IBM the 2004 US National Medal of Technology.  An IBM Master Inventor, he is an inventor or co-inventor of more than 95 US patents.  He is an editor or co-editor of 14 conference proceedings, 3 journal special issues and the author and co-author of over 75 technical papers. He is an Associate Editor of Journal Micro/Nanolithography. In 2014, he was named an ACS Fellow. Later he was named a PMSE Fellow and SPIE Fellow. Dr. Lin is a Past Chair of the American Chemical Society Division of Polymeric Materials Science and Engineering (PMSE division). He has chaired numerous national and international conferences.

Previous Awardees

2018 Qinghuang Lin
2016 Joel Oxman
2014 Robert D. Allen
2012 Babu N. Gaddam
2008 Richard Turner
2006 James Hedrick
2004 Craig Hawker
Bill Culbertson
2002 Lloyd Robeson
2001 Alan D. English
2000 Harry Mandeville
S. Randall Holmes-Farley

For information about previous awardees, please see:

Industrial Polymer Scientist Previous Awardees 2010-2018

Industrial Polymer Scientist Previous Awardees 2000-2008

%d bloggers like this: