Menu Close

Application Deadline is July 1 of odd numbered years

The Paul J. Flory Polymer Education Award commemorates the achievements of the late Paul Flory, a Nobel Prize recipient who was a chemist at Stanford University;  it was created to recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding achievements by an individual in promoting undergraduate or graduate polymer education. The Flory Award was established in 1981 and is currently administered by the POLY division of the ACS and is sponsored by Albemarle (since 2012). Previously, the award was sponsored by the Rohm and Haas Company (1981-2009).  The award is presented biennially in even-numbered years in the spring at the national ACS meeting during the POLY/PMSE award program.

Award: Awardees will  receive a plaque, an honorarium of $3,000, and travel expenses of up to $2,000 to attend the national ACS meeting at which the award is presented. The recipient is expected to present at a symposium in his/her honor at the national ACS meeting, organized by the POLY division programming chair and nominator. The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, or sexual orientation.

Eligibility: A nominee must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division of ACS. Consideration will be given to an individual or team for significant contributions in furthering polymer education.

Nomination: Nominators must be a member or affiliate of the POLY division. Nomination packages should be sent by email as a single PDF file to the POLY division business office at and should include (in order):

  • A completed POLY Awards Application (contains additional contact and application information)
  • One nomination letter that highlights the impact of the nominee’s work in the specific award area (2 pages maximum)
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae (2 pages maximum, tailored to award)
  • A complete list of scholarly works relevant to the award (e.g., publications, books, etc.)

Previous Awardees

2020 Krzysztof Matyjaszewski
2018 Tim Lodge
2016 Ken Wagener
2014 George Odian
2012 Bob Cohen
2010 Harry Allcock
2008 Frank N. Kelley
2006 Bill MacKnight

James McGrath

Gareth L. Wilkes

Thomas C. Ward

2002 Ulrich W. Suter
2000 James Mark
1998 Roger S. Porter
1996 Eric Baer
1994 Leo Mandelkern
1992 E. Pearce
1990 George B. Butler
1988 M. Morton
1986 Paul J. Flory
1984 C. S. Marvel
1982 H. F. Mark

For more information about previous awardees, please see:

Paul Flory Previous Awardees 2012-2020

Paul Flory Previous Awardees 2002-2010

Paul Flory Previous Awardees 1982-2000

%d bloggers like this: